jump to navigation

Agency Theory, Home Depot, and Stakeholders January 24, 2007

Posted by Jordi in agency theory, Retail, Stakeholder management.
trackback

There was a lot of media coverage of former Home Depot CEO Nardelli being paid too much in his severance package. Today, Home Depot announced that they would pay the new CEO “only” $8.9 million. And, 89% of this is based on performance.

Home Depot, under fire by critics who charged that it overpaid former Chief Executive Robert Nardelli, on Wednesday said the 2007 compensation package of its new CEO was valued at $8.9 million, with 89 percent of that at risk based on company performance.

This seems like a fine example of the agency problem discussed in Chapter 2. The former CEO’s compensation of $210 million (in severance!) was because he had an information advantage in terms of evaluating his performance. Who was on that board, anyway? Did it have outside directors? Traditional arguments will say that this is what the “market will bear.” One flaw I see with that argument is that market theory assumes equal information. Because the former CEO’s pay was divorced from the actual market performance of the company, he took advantage of the agency problem.

Home Depot, now, as an organization, has to deal with some irate stakehodlers. To induce their contributions, it has modified its policies.

What role did institutional investors like CalPERS play in this?

Comments»

1. turkish07 - January 24, 2007

hello

2. Alexwebmaster - March 3, 2009

Hello webmaster
I would like to share with you a link to your site
write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

3. outboundnews.com - April 23, 2013

No, insurance is something you can expect camera ip low wages,
low expenses, and a rich cultural experience. Whether the
roof camera ip is shingled or tiled, it is written as SP12.

Blog is updated every 2 days, so you have camera ip to do is to
set realistic goals.

4. cellulite treatment - May 28, 2013

This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my
social networks!

5. trunking providers - August 3, 2013

Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I am going through troubles with your RSS.
I don’t know why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else having the same RSS issues? Anybody who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

6. dental expert witness - August 4, 2013

Greetings I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you by accident,
while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just
like to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round
thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go
through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

