jump to navigation

Organic Foods and The Bison February 6, 2007

Posted by K.C. in Business-Society Issues, Consumers, Organizational Environment.
trackback

           

       Organic foods have been growing in popularity since the early 90’s and now as megastore Wal-Mart attempts to sell Organic foods there is some controversy over certification. Essentially, foods deemed organic have to be certified by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and must comply with certain standards. One requirement is that animals must have access to outdor pasture and are able to graze in fresh air. However, the USDA has far fewer agents than organic certified farms and because of this many farms have almost no regulation. Furthermore, the recent news about Wal-Mart’s interest in organic prroduce makes me wonder how organic some foods really are. Much of the food that Wal-Mart will sell is produced at overseas farms where regulation could be scarce. Growing up in New York City I have become acustomed to buying organic because my parents would always shop at the organic foods market. I personally try to buy organic also, especailly milk, because I believe that you can see and taste the difference between organic and non-organic produce.  

Almost four years ago when I came to bucknell, I remember walking into the Bison and seeing how nice it looked. However, while the appearance of the Bison has certainly changed from year to year, the Food has remained the same, BAD. The food at the Bison has always bothered me and I would like to ask the administration why they do not supply us with better food. Organic Maybe?

Comments»

1. menels - February 6, 2007

That’s an interesting suggestion, but how much do you think the price of food would have to increase in order to do so?

2. Janine - February 6, 2007

I agree that the Bison could use to add an organic bar to their venue. With the growing popularity that you touch on, I think the Bison would be smart to notice this environmental change and adapt accordingly. This would be a good example of an organization, i.e. The Bison, recognizing the changing desires of its customers, and thereby shifting its operations and products.

However, my only concern would be price. Organic food, while healthier, is more expensive. I notice that the Bison has some pretty high prices, and with the introduction of organic foods, don’t you think the prices will just go up to accommodate the costs of the food?

3. Stacey Swift - February 7, 2007

I would also like to see organic food in the bison, I often times have to take the lettuce and tomato off my sandwiches, however I think the price would be too high. I do think that Bucknell should get a little credit for attempting to repsond to the trend, they haven’t all together ignored it. They do have the section in the caf off to the right that is supposed to serve organic food. I remeber last year they offered organic local vegetables in the bison on the weekends, maybe that will return in the spring. I just don’t think its realistic for a college campus to move to organic.

4. Stephanie - February 27, 2007

Maybe I am not trendy or healthy enough, but I never specifically buy organic food. I understand the idea behind it, and it definitely makes sense that the more natural the food, the better it is for you. Who wants to be eating chemicals? However I am skeptical about the issues raised about how much of organic food really is organic? Are the regulations actually being met? I support buying locally grown food and certainly eat the vegetables and fruit my mom grows in her garden, but I don’t have the time and money to make sure that all the food I am buying is organic.

5. Meg - February 27, 2007

There’s actually an organic farm located in Snyder County, PA called Sweet Meriam’s Farm. I’m not sure what the difference in price would be of their produce compared to the produce currently sold at Bucknell, but since organic food sales have grown 17 to 20 percent over the past few years, there may be a demand regardless of price.

6. Brian Mulligan - February 28, 2007

I know at home that we try to stick to organic foods, but I feel that this is just a part of trend in American society to eat “healthier foods.” Companies like Trader Joes and Whole Foods have benefited greatly from this organic craze. Personally, organic foods will play a bigger part in the coming future because of the increased processing of foods for the US Consumer market, which tries to find fast and easy ways to eat. The gap will widen between the two different qualities of foods as time progressing and competition heats up.


Leave a Reply

