jump to navigation

Post-it Notes February 20, 2007

Posted by Stephanie in Technology.
trackback

If you have seen Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion (I don’t particularly recommend it) than you might recall their claim of becoming successful business women by inventing post-it notes. I cannot say I remember whether or not any of their classmates believed them, but certainly no one would believe they invented the newest form of the post-it note. The HP TouchSmart IQ770 found in “every home of the future” is a:

“…high-end PC and features a 19 inch widescreen, touch sensitive display. Its height and viewing angles are easily adjustable. A wireless keyboard hides under the unit when not in use. The TouchSmart is equipped with tuners for both standard and digital TV broadcasts. ”

The idea is that this PC would be placed in the kitchen as a way to leave notes for family members, as well as get the local weather forecast, edit photos, or of course watch TV. At first I was extremely impressed. What a wonderful idea to combine those specific devices into one. It’s sort of like combining an iPod and cell phone – brilliant! Why didn’t anyone think of this before?

 

Then with further reading my excitement dwindled as I learned that, at least according to Stephen H. Wildstrom, the author of Still Can’t Beat a Post-It Note (Business Week, February 26), the TouchSmart has many flaws and as the title of the article implies, cannot compare to a post-it note. The reasons this new device fails in my opinion:

  • A post-it note is in your face, the TouchSmart requires you to open the program and view messages.
  • Price comparisons cannot even be made considering the TouchSmart runs for about $1,795.
  • The calendar program is separate from the notes.
  • You can make an entry visible to everyone, but not indicate who is belongs to.

With these large flaws, as well as my personal love of real post-it notes, with their multitude of uses, colors and sizes, I am not making the switch anytime soon. Sometimes advanced technology is just too advanced for what can really be solved with a simple square of paper with a sticky backing.

Do you often use post-it notes? What do you use them for? Do you think technology over complicates what can be made simple, or are you always a fan of technological advances?

Comments»

1. Stacey Swift - February 21, 2007

I think in the distant future the touch smart may replace post it notes, but I do not see the average American family paying $1,795 to digitalize their post it notes. I am a fan of the post it notes. I know there is a program you can download to get post it notes on your desktop, so whenever you open your computer you can see your to do list, but I have never bothered to do this because I do use the old fashioned kind. One nice thing about them is they are transportable, I am not yet at the point where I carry my laptop wherever I go, so it is great to scribble something down on a post it and throw it in my bag. I don’t think post it notes are going anywhere anytime soon.

2. Jordi - February 21, 2007

I went “back” last summer to having a pad of paper with me at all times. Like a big post-it note without adhesive. I have tried using digital to do lists, but the ease of just “jotting something down” and the flexibility of paper made me want it handy.

Paper: a portable, cheap, flexible information storage and retrieval technology!

3. Abby - February 22, 2007

I agree that paper is the more affordable option for now, but its easy to lose them if u have too many or they lose their stickiness. All Mac computers have a program called ‘Stickies’ which allows you to keep post its on your desktop, with different colors, etc etc.

What the Touch Smart idea reminded me of is that in… either ‘Back to the Future’ or ‘Honey I Shrunk the Kids’ that the Dad had installed a scrolling digital message thing in the kitchen for the family. Talk about in your face.

4. Lady - February 22, 2007

I think I’ll have to agree with Stacey and Jordi on this one. I am still a fan of using post-it notes and they are definitely all over my desk! I can barely keep up with using a planner because of the hassle of the time it takes to write everything down–every year I buy it and I just throw it to the side. And for this same reason, this is why I don’t use the calendar on my phone or the programs on my computer to write down all these things. For the most part, I usually just remember alot of things and use post-it notes for when I have to remember something in the short-run (really quick and doesn’t take me forever to program it). Paper (and post-it notes more specifically) are definitely the way to go right now. Technological advances are cool and are to be commended. But what I can’t stand the most are technological advances that are not really needed and ones that are created simply to “create” a market and demand for a product that we could survive without.

5. Professor Jordi - February 23, 2007

Maybe Post-It notes, and the world of hyperlinks, wikipedias, and other forms of spatial organization of information (as opposed to linear, day planner, encyclopedic) is ascendant. There was a time when using a raft of post-it notes would be considered sloppy and disorganized, and, by extension, immoral.

Does the rise of the rise of the post-it note and the hyperlink enable disorganized people? Does it make formerly organized people more disorganized? Does the technology of the post-it note change culture (either broadly or in organizations)?

6. Elaine - February 23, 2007

The “new and improved” version of post-it notes will probably not be widely successful for the middle-income family. It doesn’t seem practical enough. I have a feeling that post-its will be around for quite a while longer.

7. Janine - February 25, 2007

This new piece of technology is not impressive. What differientiates this machine from a regular laptop? I mean, laptops play music, dvds, radio, t.v (in some cases). You can have a calender on it, etc. And for all that, a laptop is probably cheaper. I love post-its. They have changed the way I organize my life. The multitude of colors draw attention to them, and everyone just knows and loves those little pieces of paper!

8. Brian Mulligan - February 28, 2007

I personally use the post-it notes on the desktop of the computer. I’m big supporter of a paperless society where we could feasibly read books on computer, etc. Also, my buddy is currently working with a company that is creating a database for creating a paperless system for perscriptions in hostpitals. It’s pretty interesting.


Leave a Reply

