jump to navigation

Video Gaming/ Troubled Future? March 6, 2007

Posted by Bertan in innovation, Internet, Technology.
trackback

I have played my own share of xbox 360, xbox, ps2, playstation, nintendo and other consoles and thought that I had spent way too much time playing video games and throwing my hours away. It made me feel better when I heard Microsoft’s target of six million people connecting to Microsoft Xbox Live service by June 2007. Xbox Live is a service which allows games around the world to connect and play multiplayer games over the internet by setting up a Xbox Live Account and connecting an internet cable to the back of the console.

Microsoft’a further research showed that 2.3 billion hours have been spent by gamers playing online games, of which 710 million total hours represents Halo players. Halo is a game created and launched by Microsoft with the release of Xbox in 2001 and is one of the reasons why Xbox still remains the number one console in the gamer’s world.

It amazes me to think that there are so many people addicted to video games. I put it in my FIFA 07 soccer game and joined Xbox Live just to see what the fuss was about and realised that at any time I joined, I had a change of playing against people in 30 different countries. Though it was fun, it got me thinking about where our future lies. With all this new technology, people are starting to spend more and more time on their couch (not to mention that technological advances are given as a major reason for obesity) and this leads to more jobs being created which let the employee work from home, I am sure you have all seen the commercials on TV. Although connecting video gamers to laziness might be a little far-fetched, I believe that we are becoming more lazy as we develop new technologies.

Comments»

1. wilson7 - March 6, 2007

There was a presentation to day in my Business, Government, & Society class that talked about video games. Many think that video games are starting to cause obesity in the children growing up. Instead of going outside and being active these kids our just sitting in front of a television playing video games. The question was asked is video gaming a sport. What do you think?

2. Bertan - March 6, 2007

Haha I mean I don’t know if its a sport.. but it definitely gets you tired.. so we’d have to redefine sport to anything that gets you tired rather than physical activity.. I mean I don’t think it would be fair to soccer to say moving my thumbs and pressing buttons is sport you know? 🙂

3. Janine - March 7, 2007

New technology for video games definitely does not help with obesity. There are a lot of other causes for americans being overweight and playing video games all the time may contribute to that, but is certainly not the only thing. I personally do not see a problem with the new technological developments for video games. it is actually quite exciting. While yes, it can cause some to be lazy, well then those people should stop shoving crappy food into their mouths at the same time. Also, What about the Wii? That at least gets the players up and moving. There is an advance.

4. Charley S - March 19, 2007

It is my belief that as technology in general advances people will be spending most of their time starting at screens. A recent study put the total hours that people on average right now stare at a screen of some sort is over 40 a week. Personally, staring at the TV all day drives me crazy which is why I choose a career that has me running around the woods most of the time. However, the military now has more tv screens than anyone, with systems in each vehicle that allow you to view on a map the location of practically every unit in the area and gives you the ability to message them directly. Video game advances probably will help turn people into zombies but the whole computer revolution itself is going to contribute more.

5. Lady - March 19, 2007

I was never one to get addicted to video games. The last video games I played was Street fighter and Zelda from Super Nintendo (it’s ok–you can laugh!). Anyways, I was always against video games because of the laziness it causes in addition to how violent some of the video games have become nowadays. As technological advances continue, children (younger and younger) are being taught how to steal cars, run from the cops, and shoot people to earn points. The things learned in these games could ultimately affect the person negatively in real life.

On a more positive note, I think that I also don’t like video games because of the patience and intellience that it requires to learn how to play them and win the games. I’d much rather go to the courts and shoot hoops than try to figure out the combination of buttons that will make Dwayne Wade shoot the stupid ball or cross someone over. Also, for some games, you can learn “cheat codes” that allow you to beat the game faster. Therefore, while I am not in favor of playing video games, I must admit that they are of some good–some video game players are our future computer programmers and engineers. So I guess the laziness might pay off in the future? What do you think?

6. Jordi - April 3, 2007

Is physically lazy the same as lazy in value-creating? I mean, you can get overweight form sitting and working all day, but you may generate a lot of value for ourself or company.

Also, I would like to see some clearer information about the link between video game playing and obesity. Its an easy story to tell, but is it what is really going on? This kind of post can be improved by looking around a bit for more research on this topic. In fact, that is what a good post does- it starts with topic A, shows the link to topic B, and then gives the reader some sense of B and wanting more. Its the art of conversation.

Also, connecting your experience with Phillip-Morris to this creates new questions. For instance, will the liability model of tobacco recreate itself with video games and obesity or youth violence (like Columbine et al)?


Leave a Reply

