jump to navigation

Vacation policy at Netflix: Take as much as you want April 13, 2007

Posted by Jordi in Employees, Workplaces.
trackback

San Jose Mercury News – Vacation policy at Netflix: Take as much as you want
“The worst thing is for a manager to come in and tell me: `Let’s give Susie a huge raise because she’s always in the office.’ What do I care? I want managers to come to me and say: `Let’s give a really big raise to Sally because she’s getting a lot done’ – not because she’s chained to her desk.

They must be crazy you are saying. The employees would be lazy slobs! These “irrepsonisble” managers have employees who led the company to about $50 million in profit on $1 billion in revenue. With 1,300 employees.

Comments»

1. Kira - April 16, 2007

Crazy? Not at all! If workers are getting the job done and are doing it well, why shouldn’t they be allowed to break free from their chains? I think that giving employees’ flexibility in their schedules and rewards based on their accomplishments rather than simply the amount of hours they worked is a great system. This makes for happier workers which in turn make for better workers. I do not think there would be an issue of employees not working at all since they would not be receiving rewards and they could be fired. This creates a great culture in which I would love to work!

2. Brian Mulligan - April 16, 2007

There must be some perameters that the workers must folllow like a minimum work week and also they must have certain goals that they must complete. If they have goal-oriented job description, then they would invest enough time to finish their goals. The managers wouldn’t have any reason to fire the employees unless they didnt’ finish their job. I would like to work for NetFlix because when you’re done with your work, you’re done. You don’t have to sit on facebook or play sudoko to pass the time when you have nothing to do for a couple hours (ie this past summer for me). I wonder how they are paid? Not hourly.

3. Jordi - April 17, 2007

Brian, They are salaried. They are goal-oriented.

The hourly workforce that puts the discs in envelopes gets more standard vacation, but average or above average, I think.

4. collage9 - April 17, 2007

I too think this is a good strategy. If you’re getting the job done, then I don’t think it should matter how long you work or how you go about doing it. As long as it’s legal, of course. I think there is too much concern with how much people work and not with what they’re actually getting done. I think I place like Netflix would be a good place to work. I know I don’t want to be chained to my desk all day when I start working.

5. wilson7 - April 17, 2007

This is a good idea for the company because you do not necessarily have to be in the office to be productive. Some people are more efficient when they are just in a relaxed atmosphere where they can work as they please without having an executive looking over their shoulder. As long as their employees are doing what they are supposed to be doing and are not costing the company money why not give them a privilege like this.

6. Stacey Swift - April 17, 2007

I agree with the above statements. Those who are more efficient with their time should be rewarded. As long as they are being monitored to ensure they are doing quality work I don’t see a problem with spending less time in the office as long as they are doing their job. Some people work faster than others.


Leave a Reply

